Board of Directors

Vic Herson
Victor Herson, President

Vic is a semi-retired physician who was Medical Director of the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, President of the Medical Staff, and on the Board of Directors at Connecticut Children’s Medical Center. He and his wife, Gail, have lived in Bloomfield for 40 years where they raised three children. Along with his duties as WLT President, he assists with fundraising, developing the LaSalette Trail, and stewardship work parties.

Paula Jones
Paula Jones, Vice President

Paula is an avid conservationist serving on nonprofit boards and town committees. She retired from the insurance industry in 2012 and was President of the Actuaries’ Club of Hartford & Springfield. She grew up playing in the woods of Maine and believes in the restorative power of hiking and being outdoors. She and her husband, Kevin Gough, lead hikes and steward Thrall Farm for WLT. She joined the Board in 2011 and has served as Secretary and Treasurer.

Sue Petke headshot
Suzanne Petke, Treasurer

Sue has 37 years of experience as an Agile Product Owner Senior Advisor, Business Analytic Advisor, Accountant, and Application Developer at Cigna. She also volunteers with Our Companions Animal Rescue and the Connecticut Chapter of the Appalachian Mountain Club. She and her husband, Steve, are avid hikers and cyclists locally and in northern New England. As Treasurer, Sue also chairs the WLT Finance Committee.

Christopher Shepard
Christopher Shepard, Secretary

Christopher has provided leadership for conservation outreach initiatives including a science education reform partnership, municipal nature center, and now the Connecticut Outdoor Recreation Alliance. He believes people help protect lands and waters they come to appreciate through first-hand experiences, such as hiking, kayaking, and gardening with his husband, Chris. He also chairs the WLT Communications Committee.

Dale Bertoldi
Dale Bertoldi

A LEED certified architect and executive director for Ironwood Community Partners, is WLT’s past president and continues to work on grants and land acquisitions.

Picture of Sten Caspersson
Sten Caspersson

A retired nuclear engineering project manager, now Executive Scientist for the Connecticut Academy of Science & Engineering and on WLT’s finance committee.

Ashley Stewart
Picture of Alexa Tzanova
Alexa Tzanova

A visiting research scientist at Brown University and upper school science teacher at Kingswood Oxford who is committed to climate science education, currently coordinates WLT membership.

Our volunteer Board of Directors bring various skills and expertise to our board. They oversee and approve organizational plans, budgets and financial reports, as well as implement land protection strategies. They also initiate ways to raise the necessary funds to continue their operations and support Land Trust activities, many of which are free to the public.

They meet once a month on the second Wednesday from 5:30 to 7:00 pm. Directors have the option of serving 1, 2, or 3-year term lengths. Board meetings are open to members.

Past Directors

We gratefully acknowledge the many contributions of those who volunteered previously on the Board of Directors. We also know this list is incomplete; please contact us with additions!

  • Charles “Chuck” Agnano, Vice President
  • Michelle Bononi, Secretary
  • Sten Caspersson
  • Chip Caton, Vice President
  • Patty Connolly
  • Stephan Davis
  • Claudia D’occhio, Secretary
  • BJ Hardersen
  • Tamara Hochman
  • Doris Johnson
  • Rickford Kirton
  • Sharon Mann, Events Chair
  • Suzanne Petke, Treasurer
  • Vikki Reski, Secretary and Treasurer
  • David Sullivan
  • Patrick Sullivan
  • Jim Trail
  • Alexa Tzanova

You are donating to : Greennature Foundation

How much would you like to donate?
$10 $20 $30
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Additional Note